Grand-Daddy Eggs, A Tribute to my Father-in-Law

Grand-Daddy Eggs

It’s funny how you can develop such a strong sense of admiration for somebody you’ve never met. My husband’s late father passed before I had the pleasure of meeting him. But of course I always hear many stories about him. In a way it almost feels like I’ve met him. I’ve also heard how much of my son’s characteristics emulate his paternal grandfather; thus, in that sense, I’m also witnessing first-hand what my father-in law might have been like.

So while I did not get the opportunity to meet him, laugh with him, or talk shop with him, I still feel blessed by his continued presence. And every time I make eggs scrambled-soft, he crosses my mind. Why, you might ask? Because he was the one who would make these special eggs for his children on mornings when his wife was at work. So we ended up calling them Grand-Daddy eggs, and my husband very carefully instructed me how to make them so he could continue to enjoy them when I make breakfast. We call over-easy eggs, Mommy-Daddy Eggs because our son began to reference these eggs as such when he was trying to eat like his parents. My favorite way to eat eggs are eggs over easy, and I thus make them quite often. But I’m thankful that my husband has shared his cooking technique with me because I was never really fond of scrambled eggs. I would eat them, sure, but that was usually limited to when they were in a burrito or scrambled with cheese. Surprisingly, Grand-Daddy Eggs are so soft and fluffy that they almost taste as if cheese was included. They are definitely a scrambled egg treat.

I hope that my cooking efforts can honor the memory of the father-in-law I never met. He was a good man, and the earth was blessed for having him here, even beyond his cooking efforts.


4 thoughts on “Grand-Daddy Eggs, A Tribute to my Father-in-Law

Leave a comment