Auntie Ruth Anne Deep Chocolate Nutalicious Cookies

I baked my last two dough batches of Auntie Ruth Anne Deep Chocolate Nutalicious cookies this morning. My husband was getting ready to head out to meet his brother so I had packed theirs away. But when he entered the kitchen and saw his wife and son digging in, he decided to join us and eat his half before he left. My son had me laughing because apparently he wasn’t in the mood for the chocolate today. He said, “Mama, can you take the chocolate out?” Hmm. Can you imagine trying to explain to your small child that you don’t have those kind of skills?… You know, the kind that evaporates dark chocolate from an already baked chocolate chip cookie? Well, Daddy got some extra cookies and I offered our son an alternative snack. Problem solved. It turns out my brother later enjoyed his homemade treats, also. I hope he had some milk on hand… because these Auntie Ruth Anne cookies are DEEP. These are some no joke, deep chocolate nutalicious cookies. 

As for the nuts! Pecans… Almonds… Hazelnuts. It truly is a nutalicious cookie. I took them to one of my stitch groups once, and one of the ladies had both gluten and nut allergies. Sorry, folks. Those who fall in either or both of those camps are just not welcome to the nutalicious cookie party. But don’t fret. I do care about everybody getting a chance to have his or her fill. So I inquired of my friend regarding what types of cookies she could eat. Gluten was out. Most nuts were out. But interestingly, she was okay with peanuts. She told me that I could make peanut butter cookies without flour, using just peanut butter, sugar, and an egg. Later on I came across a recipe with a similar ingredient list and I gave it my Auntie Ruth Anne touch. I wrote about this gluten-free peanut butter cookie recipe a while ago. It turned out to be a big hit with my family. My son asks for them all the time, and I can use one simple batch and varied baking times to create soft, medium, or crispy cookies and please most cookie lovers. My sister also gets excited for these cookies, but she is somewhat of the oddball, as she likes hers to be super soft, melt-in-your mouth cookies, while most of the others prefer a crunchier peanut butter cookie.  Right now I haven’t perfected a purely gluten- AND nut-free cookie. But I’ll give you an update when I do. 

Auntie Ruth Anne Deep Chocolate Nutalicious Cookies

My deep chocolates are here to stay. One day you might get the privilege of trying some, too. Grab some good company or enjoy them on your own. But either way, like I said, make sure you have some cold milk on hand… because, oh yeah, these cookies are DEEP. 

2 thoughts on “Auntie Ruth Anne Deep Chocolate Nutalicious Cookies

Leave a comment